Am I permitted to see my own combat cards?

Michal Polovka 03/26/2018. 1 answers, 910 views
scythe

While engaging in combat within Scythe, player can insert one combat card (yellow, small) per mech/character behind power dial, which serves as attack boost.

However, I fail to find in the rules book whether I am permitted to see values of my own combat cards and choose respectively. Both ways make sense (random choice and possibility to see), thus I am very uncertain.

1 Answers


doppelgreener 03/26/2018.

You may always look at the power cards in your own hand, and see their content and values. The content is only kept secret from other players, though other players may know how many combat cards you have in your hand.

From the rules page 7, up in the top right:

COMBAT CARDS: Draw the indicated number of combat cards. The number of combat cards you have is public information, but the content of those cards is kept secret from opponents.

Kept secret from opponents — not from you. You can see the content of those cards.

This means during combat you consciously choose which cards you want to play, fully knowing the values of which ones you're playing. Your opponents won't know what you've played until the Reveal in combat (page 23).

Language

Popular Tags