magic-the-gathering's questions - English 1answer

3.184 magic-the-gathering questions.

Phoebe, Head of S.N.E.A.K. has an ability which says: {2}{U}{B}: Phoebe permanently steals target creature’s text box. (That creature loses all rules text, flavor text, and watermarks. This ...

While playing a multiplayer game of commander I stumbled upon an interesting predicament. One player has a Thantis, the Warweaver out and I am forced to attack. There are three other players and one ...

Lets say I have transformed Nicol Bolas, the Ravager into Nicol Bolas the Arisen, I activate his -3 to shoot a creature or Planeswalker for 10 and pass the turn, Bolas does not take any damage so on ...

With the new updates to how mana is shown and displayed, someone pointed out to me that Elemental Resonance effectively converts the generic mana in its target's casting cost to colourless mana. ...

I control the following permanents: Eidolon of Blossoms Whenever Eidolon of Blossoms or another enchantment enters the battlefield under your control, draw a card. Opalescence Each other non-...

I'm relatively new to MTG so maybe I'm way off, but I can't find any conclusive answers nor official rulings on the following: If one can enchant a permanent, and a planeswalker is considered a ...

For example, if I have Astral Cornucopia in play along with Jhoira's Familiar, what happens? Can I cast it for X = 1 without paying any mana? I know that there is a question here regarding to X ...

With an extremely large variety of Magic: The Gathering Cards that exist out there from so many sets and a loose definition of utility and value in the game, it's often hard to gauge a card's ...

Can Arlinn Kord's -1 ability (deals 3 damage to target creature or player) target another planeswalker?

I have some very old magic cards with no symbols how can I find out what they are worth or if they are rare?

My dad and I have an issue since we play with cards with Ascend. We both play with auras with Enchant Creature. When is an aura under who’s control? I think when he plays an aura on a creature I ...

Say we have 3 players, A, B, and C, in that turn order. Player A plays an instant or sorcery spell, player B has an Eye of the Storm, and player C has an Perplexing Chimera. So said spell goes on the ...

I've tried to find out the answer to this online, but haven't found anything that explicitly determines it. The exact situation is that I have a Nissa, Steward of Elements with 9 loyalty counters on ...

If I cast Inquisition of Kozilek, and my only target is a Loxodon Smiter, do I have to make my opponent discard the Loxodon Smiter, or can I "fail to find" just as I would if i were searching my ...

Gustcloak Savior has Whenever a creature you control becomes blocked, you may untap that creature and remove it from combat. What about creatures with Vigilance? Attacking does not cause them to ...

If I crack a Krosan Verge to search for a basic plains and a basic forest, and there is not a basic forest in the deck, what happens?

So I was playing a game and this card came out and we couldn't decide if by "Other Minotaur creatures" it means not this creature, or if it included it. Also, we assumed that it would give Trample to ...

I destroy a Seal Away on my turn.. can I attack with the creature that was sealed on my turn? Or does it have summoning sickness

Glacial Chasm reads: Cumulative upkeep—Pay 2 life. (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on ...

I looked around on the internet for a list of blue counterspells in Magic: the Gathering that can be played for no mana. (Alternative costs or a mana cost later is fine.) Does anyone have a list or ...

If I were to play Blast of Genius and chose to discard Catch // Release Would the converted mana cost be the total cost of both halves or one?

In MTG, I know if I'm not able to draw on my draw step I lose, but what if I had Necropotence out; that lets me skip my draw step. Would I be able to continue playing the game? I'm just curious ...

Isochron Scepter reads, in part, You may copy the exiled card. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost. There are a number of other cards that give you the option of copying ...

From this question and from experience at a local shop, when there are 14 people who want to draft at Friday Night Magic then they are split into 2 pods, 1 pod of 8 and one pod of 6. Anecdotally, I ...

Is there some way to remove or counteract poison counters? Specifically, once you've already accumulated them, not when you are dealt them. For example, say I already have 9 poison counters. Is there ...

I've been playing M:tG for nearly a decade now. I understand the rules very well, I've participated in a few draft tournaments, and I've built a few decks that I'm very proud of. Nonetheless, I seem ...

I have discovered a curious pair of rules in the comprehensive rulebook. Specifically: 400.8. If an object in the exile zone is exiled, it doesn’t change zones, but it becomes a new object that has ...

If I gain control of Rekindling Phoenix and it dies, I know it goes to it's owners graveyard, which is my opponents graveyard, but does the token get created under my control which means my opponent ...

Assume that I played an ability of Garruk Relentless and I successfully transformed him, do I get to play his transformed ability or do I have to wait for the next turn?

Can you place multiple copies of one curse, enchantment, on a single player? For example, can one person have multiple Curse of the Bloody Tome placed on them? The enchantment is not legendary but I ...

If my opponent plays a Dryad Arbor and I use a Clone to copy it, is the clone a land as well? Can I kill the clone with a Stone Rain? I'm assuming that if the clone is a land that it does not count to ...

A player has Silent Gravestone on the battlefield and the opponent has Commit // Memory in their graveyard, where Memory has Aftermath. Can they cast Memory and would it have its effect on the player ...

Damping Engine is in play. If a person has more permanents in play than the player with the lowest amount, but does not have the most permanents themselves, pays to activate an ability which creates a ...

For example, suppose I have 3 Mountains. I play another Mountain, cast Koth of the Hammer, use the +1, and attempt to attack for four. However the Mountain I target is the one I freshly played (...

We are getting Metamorphic Alteration in M19. What if I enchant my Delver of Secrets, copying my opponents Nicol Bolas, the Ravager. Then I pay the cost on my Bolas (previously a Delver) to activate ...

Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has the ability: As Xantcha, Sleeper Agent enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice gains control of it. The release notes for Commander 2018 describe what ...

I play a Goblin Dark-Dwellers and its ability targets a Tempt with Vengeance. From what I read I would assume it would be legal and I may cast it from the graveyard, but I may choose X to be 2 as its ...

Xantcha, Sleeper Agent has the ability: As Xantcha, Sleeper Agent enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice gains control of it. Warstorm Surge has the ability: Whenever a creature ...

Spoilers for Commander 2018 have begun, and one card in particular has caught my attention: This card is like no other I know. What may be truly interesting is how it interacts with the enchantment ...

I haven't played MTG for a while, but I still own about 500 cards. Some of them were from pre-built decks, but now the cards are all randomized. I have the full inventory (quantity and name) on a ...

I understand that if a morph card is on the battlefield at the end of the game, I have to reveal it to my opponent, but what if my opponent responds to me casting the morph with a counterspell. If I ...

So I've been trying to play these two scenarios in my head, but I'm a little confused. 1). A person casts an Electrostatic Pummeler, and while it is on the stack, I cast a Fiery Temper. The person ...

Is an artifact creature considered an artifact? For example, can I use Enlightened Tutor to search my deck for an artifact creature?

When Noxious Gearhulk is played can it be countered by Turn Aside? I've noticed that some cards say "counter target spell or creature" but turn aside only says "counter target spell ..."

One of the newly spoiled cards in Magic 2014, Strionic Resonator, allows you to copy a triggered ability you control. This allows you to copy any of a number of things that previously would happen ...

With Willbreaker (mine) and Silverfur Partisan (opponents) in play if I cast an instant on their Silverfur Partisan who gets the wolf? Do I get to choose the order they go on the stack to decide this ...

If I have two different Ulamogs, can they both be on the field? They both share Ulamog as part of their name, but their entire names are different. One is Ulamog, the Ceaseless Hunger, while the ...

When does my opponent receive priority? It's the beginning of my turn; I draw a card and decide to go straight into combat. Can my opponent tap my creatures before declaring attackers with Gideon'...

Say I have a board state with an unflipped Path of Mettle, a Duelist's Heritage, one creature with first strike/double strike/vigilance/haste and another creature with none of that. As I head to ...

Commander 2018 includes a cycle of cards that say: When you cast this spell, copy it for each time you've cast your commander from the command zone this game. How does this relate to Partner cards?...

Related tags

Hot questions

Language

Popular Tags