reactions's questions - English 1answer

70 reactions questions.

This question is prompted by both Sage Advice and this similar Pathfinder question. Let's use the scenario from Sage Advice: Can you cast a reaction spell on your turn? You sure can! ...

If, for example, someone casts Fog Cloud, next to the target A and target B when they're fighting each other. If target B would run away from the fight he would cause an Opportunity Attack but when ...

I was wondering if spells like Shield wizard spell could be used as an action instead of as a reaction in response to some trigger? Shield spell gives protection until the start of casters next turn, ...

Assume that the target of dissonant whispers failed its Wisdom saving throw and that it cannot move. I don't think that the reason the target cannot move is relevant, but for example it might have a ...

I'm currently going over the rules that deal with how many reactions a character is allowed. Is there a way to gain multiple or additional reactions in a combat round?

The DMG introduces an optional rule called "Mark" (DMG, p. 271, bold added) When a creature makes a melee attack, it can also mark its target. Until the end of the attacker's next turn, any ...

The title is pretty straight-forward. By default, players can make only one opportunity attack per round, since it uses their reaction of which they only have one. Which features, spells etc. exist ...

Please help my players and myself who are having trouble understanding what movement is allowed when using Reactions to move during and after each Turn in a Round. In the player's handbook in "...

My high level players often face problems in combat. Enemy resists damage, something causes an effect, enemy's abilities are unknown. They often desire information about what has happened, i.e., "Why ...

I'm the DM of this game. During one of our games the party where fighting goblins and our Ranger said that he wanted to "Use his Action to Ready, and attack when the foe move". He meant move not in ...

Example: Player 1 uses the ready action to do something when something happens (unimportant) Goblin, decides to charge across the battlefield and attack Player 2, but happens to cross paths with ...

During the last game I mastered, my party looted a Ring of Spell Storing. With that object came a lot of questions most I could answer, some I was not exactly sure what to say and they were mostly ...

During my last game, a player tried to have his character make a miraculous escape, only to wind up splattered instead. I'll provide some details, but the gist of my question is whether my ruling on ...

If a PC is 'surprised,' (PHB p 189) he/she cannot take a reaction until the turn ends. Given that Surprise is determined at the start of combat, i.e. before any turns have happened, how could you ...

Imagine the following situation: Bobby and Tommy, 2 characters with the Counterspell spell prepared, face against Freddy, an evil priest (who does not have Counterspell). Freddy casts a high level ...

I've always wondered this, but reaction attacks such as those given by certain feats and classes, i.e.: Sentinel (Lets you attack an enemy as a reaction that attacks anybody that hurts your allies in ...

Consider the following: An Orc takes the attack action against a PC with an AC of 18. The DM rolls in front of the screen and gets a 14. He silently adds the +5 bonus from the Orc and announces ...

Me and the DM are fairly new to D&D so we're still trying to figure out the rules. DM says that spells with a duration of "1 reaction" (ie. Shield) work as described below. I totally acknowledge ...

You can only use 1 reaction until the start of your next turn. You can only use Sneak Attack once per turn. Sneak attack's benefit is more damage. Reaction's benefit is an extra strike/move while is ...

A Tempest Cleric gets the ability to push a creature 10ft away when casting lightning damage on them. If a spell that pushes a target away while they are in close quarters with one of my allies, does ...

I've been looking for clarification on the rules around reactions. I know this is a topic that seems to pop up on here a lot so there are many related questions (this one, this one, and this one ), ...

This is a house rule I thought of a while ago, but I'm not sure how game breaking it is. Basically, anyone (including an enemy) can use an Action to make a social interaction to consume a creature's ...

The spell requires 1 Reaction to cast on a creature that has damaged me. In this scenario, let's say I attack a Warlock. He then casts Hellish Rebuke on me as his reaction. In response to his Hellish ...

Shield spell Casting time line says (PHB, p. 275): 1 reaction, which you take when you are hit by an attack or targeted by the magic missile spell. (bold highlight by me) PHB, p. 194, 1st ...

The scenario: An enemy is atop a 499 foot cliff. A hero is at a place where he can stand and move freely (enough), let's say in the middle (around 250ft). Immediately after the hero's turn, the enemy ...

In the Player's Handbook, it is pretty clear that reactions normally interrupt the thing that they are reacting to. Xanathar's Guide to Everything, however, has explicitly changed all reactions to ...

Imagine Wizard A tries to cast fireball. Wizard B casts Counterspell as a reaction to try to nullify said fireball. Can Wizard C cast counterspell as a reaction to nullify Wizard B's counterspell? ...

By RAW, what reaction is available to all characters in general, regardless of class and race? Is there anything else beside Readied Action and Opportunity Attack? To clarify, it's fine if it comes ...

Does a reaction that causes me to move out of range after the spell is cast but before the spell hits cause it to miss? A couple ways this can be done are Readied action to move with a trigger: ...

Mage Slayer's first benefit says... When a creature within 5 feet of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature. Does casting a spell ...

Suppose a Fighter/Wizard without the War Caster feat is wielding a sword and shield. If she is hit and wants to cast the Shield spell as a reaction (it has a somatic component), can she drop her ...

The barbarian subclass Berserker gets the feature Retaliation at level 14, which allows making a melee weapon attack as a reaction to taking damage. RETALIATION Starting at 14th level, when you ...

I'm new to DMing; have played a handful of sessions. This situation arose in our most recent one, and I wasn't quite sure how to handle it. There's a barbarian in the party, and he is playing with a ...

The Tunnel Fighter fighting style from Unearthed Arcana: Light, Dark, Underdark! allows you to make Opportunity Attacks without using a reaction. Tunnel Fighter: You excel at defending narrow ...

Since shield is cast as a reaction, and you cannot use reactions during your turn, does that mean you cannot cast shield against opportunity attacks?

I've DM'd a 5e campaign for about a year and a half (with a decent number of arguments being settled by these boards), and I have a Ranger who's a bit of a drop-in/drop-out player, who recently found ...

In the new Unearthed Arcana there is a new Druid Circle, Circle of Spores, with the following ability: Halo of Spores Starting at 2nd level, you can launch toxic spores at other ...

Legendary Action in the Monster Manual says: A legendary creature can take a certain number of special actions — called legendary actions — outside its turn. Only one legendary action option can be ...

The wording of the monk's Opportunist ability is confusing me slightly. It says : Whenever a creature within 5 feet of you is hit by an attack made by a creature other than you, you can use your ...

When a Battle Master uses their Maneuvering Strike maneuver, does the creature they're affecting have to take the reaction immediately after the attack? (PHB pg 74) Maneuvering Attack. When you ...

The effect of the warlock's Misty Escape feature is that when the warlock takes damage she can use her reaction to teleport away to a location of her choosing within range. The effect of failing a ...

I'm currently a new DM using the Lost Mine of Phandelver Starter Set, and the party recently received the "Staff of Defense" magic item: The Staff description specifically says "you can use your ...

So, I was thinking about the rules as I often do. I thought up a hypothetical that hasn't come up before because none of the people in my play group have try doing the maneuver fighter before. The ...

Struggling to get how Ready and Reaction interact. If a player says I want to take the Ready action and wait for an orc to pop his head out and then shoot him that is a reaction and also his full ...

If more than one creature readies an action and their triggers happen all in the same turn, which one comes first? For example, let's say a character walks into a room full of enemies. He readies a ...

Several spells take effect on the target's next turn. Command is one example (PHB, p. 223): You speak a one-word command to a creature you can see within range. The target must succeed on a Wisdom ...

We have a Ranger and a Battlemaster in the party, and the Ranger thinks that he can benefit from the Colossus Slayer bonus to damage both during his Action and again later in that same round if the ...

A high level paladin has used command on a creature and ordered it to grovel. The creature then falls prone and ends its turn. At this point the paladin has another turn and triggers a reaction from ...

The Protection fighting style is described (SRD, p. 24) as: When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose ...

I use a Fighter with the Polearm Master and Sentinel feats that has a reach of 10ft. On my turn: I used Ready as an action in order to attack any monster that came within my reach. End my turn. ...

Related tags

Hot questions

Language

Popular Tags