rules-as-written's questions - English 1answer

1.263 rules-as-written questions.

So, Burning Disarm says this: This spell causes a metal object to instantly become red hot. A creature holding the item may attempt a Reflex save to drop it and take no damage Now, it does specify ...

Inspired by this question: Multi purpose Arcane Focus? The premise of the other question is about using the Rod of the Pact Keeper as a focus, and although it implies it can be used as a focus ...

Nystul's Magic Aura can make it so that magic and spells treat a creature as though it were another creature type. However the extent of this effect is ambiguous. At first, it says the following, ...

The rules for two-weapon fighting state: When you take the Attack action and attack with a light melee weapon that you're holding in one hand, you can use a bonus action to attack with a different ...

Does the following, very cheesy character concept, violate any RAW? Please cite rules or official rulings in your answer. (Apart from RAW, I expect my DM to disallow or limit the concept, in the ...

A 9th level Swiftblade gains the Perpetual Options class feature: Perpetual Options (Ex): At 9th level, you can perform even more actions with the haste spell. Instead of making one extra attack at ...

The portent ability says, in part, You can replace any attack roll, saving throw, or ability check made by you or a creature that you can see with one of these foretelling rolls. You must choose to ...

In a session today we were camped out in a Leomund's Tiny Hut and the DM determined that since it is described as a dome, the bad guys (Wraiths, so they are incorporeal) could enter the area from ...

Basically, me and my friend have been arguing for 2 months over the Death domain cleric alignment. He keeps referencing the DMG's quote of "The gods of death domain embody murder" and the fact it is a ...

The way our game is going, it is entirely feasible we may end up fighting a Tarrasque. When it comes to grappling, RAW says the following: The target of your grapple must be no more than one size ...

The 9th level spell Shapechange gives you many of the traits of the creature who's form you assume: ... You also retain all of your skill and saving throw proficiencies, in addition to gaining ...

As noted in David Coffron’s answer to another question, the moonblade (Dungeon Master’s Guide, pg. 217) has no fixed limit on how much damage it can do: there is no stated limit to the number of runes ...

A summoner has the option of taking the bleed ability for his eidolon's attacks. Suppose that such an eidolon is fighting an enemy with DR 5, and bites them successfully, rolling a 3 for damage (no ...

This is something of a clarification question off of Is it really impossible to surprise someone with a full-round action? Suppose we have the following situation: A sorcerer is stalking an unaware ...

It seems sensible to present all the evidence first, but if it's all TL;DR then feel free to scroll straight down to the Argument. I'm looking to find out if my logic is sound and my conclusions are ...

Im trying to understand the somatic component of spellcasting, in pathfinder, and how it relates to shields. The core rule book has this to say about bucklers: You can cast a spell with somatic ...

There is a campaign I'm in that, though I'm pretty much done and ready to bail on it, has inspired a thought experiment. Long story short, we got railroaded hard into being gladiators. We have had ...

The lesser restoration spell description states: You touch a creature and can end either one disease or one condition afflicting it. The condition can be blinded, deafened, paralyzed, or poisoned. ...

Assume we have a Wizard who is at least level 13 and can reliably cast Sequester many times (either through acquired spell scrolls, or has acquired enough material components for it to be a non-issue),...

Is it true that not even the person/creature/thing doing the initial action that starts a combat is able to use a full-round action? According to all sources I can find, the initial attack already is ...

One of my players wanted to use the spell swift quiver (PHB p. 279) with a magitech revolver-style weapon. As the weapon isn't more powerful than a similar ranged weapon would be with the spell (1d8+...

So, I was attempting to theory-craft a character that could deliver a massive amount of damage in a single melee attack. I know that there are builds to deliver a massive amount of damage in a single ...

Say a caster wants to travel to a different continent on the same plane. Can that journey be made using the spell plane shift, or can plane shift be used only to travel to a different plane than the ...

I was wondering if there is a way for a warlock to consistently use enlarge/reduce (or any other second level spell that is not a warlock spell) without multiclassing. I was looking around but could ...

As a follow-up to this answer, consider the following situation: Be a wizard of a level high enough to cast sequester Have a spellcaster friend that is willing to sacrifice himself "for the greater ...

For this question, I am using this homebrew centaur race on DNDBeyond. One of its traits is Equine Weakness, part of which states: As you lack the lower body of a humanoid, you are unable to wear ...

Following discussion here, what constitutes a weapon damage die? Is it any damage die dealt by the weapon? For example, consider a Flame Tongue longsword. While the sword is ablaze, it deals an ...

Imagine the following sequence of events: The wizard casts blink. During the next turn, he uses his Ready action to cast banishment on himself once he is in the Ethereal Plane. The banishment ...

A wizard wearing armour that they are not proficient in is unable to cast spells. Would it be possible to force a wizard into armour using a combination of Illusion and Illusory Reality? For example, ...

My players captured two spellbooks. What is the monetary worth of a captured spellbook? The other question addresses the market value of a captured spellbook. Now, assuming the books were captured ...

Flame Arrows says that: The spell's magic ends on the piece of ammunition when it hits or misses, and the spell ends when twelve pieces of ammunition have been drawn from the quiver. Does the ...

I had a game in which there was temple for a local god. One of the practices of the temple was to make sure that the river that flowed through the town was clean. They managed this by doing what the ...

As last week's game ended in a tough spot, I need rules advice to make critical tactical decisions, since I'm new to pathfinder and we are playing a pretty hard campaing. Our lvl 3-4 party of 5 is ...

Identify spell reads: Components: V, S, M (a pearl worth at least 100 gp and an owl feather) Is that pearl consumed? Or is it reusable? This article is written on the assumption that the pearl is ...

Magic item slots are shared between summoner and eidolon. If one has a neck item, then the other cannot wear a different neck item. Since the item slots are shared, does that mean the magic item ...

Guardian of faith says: The guardian vanishes when it has dealt a total of 60 damage. Because of this, could you: Have the guardian attack something with a good Dex save Assume the thing succeeds ...

According to the Rule Compendium, "A winged creature can be tripped, and if it is, it falls as if it didn’t maintain its minimum forward speed." (P. 145) But if the target has good or perfect ...

I am rewriting a NPC changeling. I would like to include it in a coven with two hags. However, the rule implies 3 hags: Hag Covens When three hags of any type gather, they can form a coven to ...

The Situation I am a high level caster surrounded by multiple high level archmages, all ready to 9th-level counterspell me if I cast a spell. For reasons unimportant to this question, I have no time ...

The text of the produce flame spell reads: A flickering flame appears in your hand. The flame remains there for the duration and harms neither you nor your equipment. The flame sheds bright light ...

Years ago, as a teenager, I played in a 3rd edition Stormbringer campaign. It's a game based on the Elric novels of Michael Moorcock. I remember distinctly that the book had a big table of the races/...

A player in my Pathfinder campaign has chosen Lawful Evil as their character's alignment. I've given this my blessing since Lawful Evil characters tend to disrupt the game the least in my experience, ...

This passage from the description of the Border Ethereal (DMG p. 48) says that anything made of magical force can affect ethereal creatures: A traveler on the Ethereal Plane is invisible and ...

The Thief archetype Rogue gets the Use Magic Device feature at 13th level: By 13th level, you have learned enough about the workings of magic that you can improvise the use of items even when they ...

You can use your action to cause the image to move to any spot within range. As the image changes location you can alter its appearance so that its movement appear naturel for the image. So, we ...

Here are the general guidelines regarding ability checks: The GM calls for an ability check when a character or monster attempts an action (other than an attack) that has a chance of failure. When ...

A typical flat-footed creature can't make attacks of opportunity, but does a flat-footed creature still enable allies to benefit from flanking if the creature's appropriately armed? Similarly, does an ...

The term "rules as written" (or RAW) gets thrown about fairly often in RPG circles, especially around D&D. But what does it actually mean? Is RAW an analysis technique? A playstyle? An entire ...

Shatter has always been my "go to" spell for damaging objects. Whether it was a wooden door or a fragile stone outcropping, I'd cast shatter to crack it or shake it loose. But today, I read something ...

If you make an attack of opportunity, can you take an immediate action in the same round? It would make sense because immediate actions were invented after the PH (and therefore AoOs), but is this RAW?...

Related tags

Hot questions

Language

Popular Tags